The Vote is In!!
Posted - Aug 16, 2017

Just in from Tim Page-Bottorff:

The membership vote for Name Change to ASSP has passed with a vote of 74% to 26%.  Please get prepared to start naming our chapter the “The Arizona Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals”.

No word yet from Society on branding standard or compliance timeline. Micheal Bryant will be forming a team of members to determine the anticipated local affected of the brand change and the financial impact.

Mason Saldana Needs Our Help!
Posted - Jun 05, 2017

Mason Saldana, current President of the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Student Section and recent winner of ICA/ADOSH Chairman’s Special Recognition Award for best up and coming Safety Professional of 2017, has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. This comes just weeks after his graduation from ERAU with his Master of Science in Safety Science. A Go-Fund-Me account has been set-up to help defray medical expenses while he is at/near UCLA for medical treatment.To read more, click below or follow this link to go to his donation page.

Continue Reading »

Jeremy Bethancourt named ASSE’s 2017 Safety Professional of the Year
Posted - Jun 01, 2017

 PARK RIDGE, Illinois — Jeremy Bethancourt, a professional member of the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) and government affairs chair of its Arizona chapter, has been selected as ASSE’s 2017 Edgar Monsanto Queeny Safety Professional of the Year. He plays a lead role in getting billboards posted throughout Arizona to bring attention to the dangers of distracted driving, the hazards of heat stress, and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s (OSHA) National Stand-Down to Prevent Falls in Construction.Bethancourt is director of safety, health and training for LeBlanc Building Co. Inc., a commercial and residential specialty framing contractor based in Scottsdale, Arizona. He has developed a reputation as a tireless advocate for workplace safety, serving as co-founder and program director of ACTA Safety, member of the ANSI/ASSE A10.32 fall protection subcommittee, chair of Arizona’s annual Workers Memorial Day ceremony, co-founder of the Drive Smart Arizona coalition, and collaborator in several national construction research projects. In 2013, he was awarded ASSE’s inaugural Triangle Award – commemorating the 1911 Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire – for his commitment to promoting fall protection.“Jeremy’s ability to inspire others and lead them toward a common goal has been nothing less than extraordinary,” said John LeBlanc, CEO and owner of LeBlanc Building Co. Inc. “Our achievement as a premier expert in worker safety and progressive fall protection is in no small part due to Jeremy’s technical understanding of the building process and his willingness to integrate new approaches into safety while maintaining productivity.”

For a copy of the complete press release, please click HERE.

Our Chapter Sponsors